Anyone can be a Journalist

Please discuss the following questions: 

  • What kind of person should report the news? What training should they have? 
  • How do we know if news is true? 
  • Can anyone report the news? 
  • If you were the only person to witness something important – something that the whole world should know about – what would you do? Please explain your answer. 

Please share your ideas about these questions by posting comments in the text box at the bottom of this forum page. You must write at least 100 words. 

9 thoughts on “Anyone can be a Journalist

  1. *i think news reporters, magazine journalist, police, and people who had incident or related to murder can report the news.

    * i check on TV or internet, and know it was true or not.

    *i think anyone can report news if happening or event is big.

    *if i witness some big happenning, i will talk to police or people who are related to media.

  2. ◾What kind of person should report the news? What training should they have?
    They are required to have strong faith or belief and sense of justice. They have to train to distinguish what is right or wrong.

    ◾How do we know if news is true?
    We need to compare it with other news on some newspaper or some website. Then we can know what is the truth.

    ◾Can anyone report the news?
    It is better for only person who studied and trained to report the news.

    If you were the only person to witness something important – something that the whole world should know about – what would you do? Please explain your answer.
    I will write summary, take some photos, and call the newspaper company or TV stations.

  3. My major is multi-media. And I reported the news one year ago .we have the pronounciation practice and writing practice .It hard to know that the news is true ,I think it rely on the dependence.
    If I am the only one to witness sth .I will tell the whole thing to everyone .And tell the thing keep objectives.

  4. ◾What kind of person should report the news? What training should they have?
    I think the most important thing is honest. For that, they must know about true. So, i think they should train about good judgement. If it is so, they can judge which is truth or not.

    ◾How do we know if news is true?
    Basically we dont know. but everyone believe somthing, that became true. No matter it is or it isn’t.

    ◾Can anyone report the news?
    I think so, but like a internet, too much information make untrue.

    ◾If you were the only person to witness something important – something that the whole world should know about – what would you do? Please explain your answer.
    I will report it in internet and media. that’s everything i can.
    If they believe, that’s good. but they don’t believe, they will pay their own misjudge.

  5. 1.I think people who report news have unbiased opinion. Some journalists tend to express too much their opinion on media. / They have to practice writing without prejudice,focus on fact,and report clear.

    2. We are not sure reading only one article. We try to compare with other article written same topic. I know it is difficult, but after do this, we can realize that it is true or not.

    3. Yes. But they have to have a format of report.

    4. I’ll go to visit journalist who is influential in the world. And I’ll tell him something only I know. He might report about the fact. The reason why I choose this way is that I don’t want to feel responsibility for something happen after report.

  6. 1.The person who has a sharp observation and a strong ability of analysis should report the news. Everyone can see the big event, but only details determine success and failure. So a sharp observation can find the key points under the surface is one of requirements to be a journalist. News not only talk about the process of events, but also need some comprehensive analysis to lead the readers to understand the news. To be a journalist must be trained by experts. I think some writing practices are a good way to improve their skills.

    2.We can check different methods to get news determine what is truth.

    3. I think reporters must has a fair judgment to report the news. But for some sensitive news, most people cannot control their own feeling. So I don’t think everyone can report the news.

    4. I take the pictures or video first, and then post them to the Internet, Facebook, twitter or something else. On the Internet, everything around us can be shared by Facebook and twitter. Nowadays, the Internet is the best way to spread our message.

  7. What kind of person should report the news? What training should they have?
    I think honest and diligent people are.

    How do we know if news is true?
    Can anyone report the news?
    i think anyone cannot report the news.
    because there is a job, a reporter, read and write the news.

    If you were the only person to witness something important – something that the whole world should know about – what would you do? Please explain your answer.
    i’ll tell the repoter or report the media.

  8. ■What kind of person should report the news? What training should they have?
    I think person who can see objectively is suited for a reporter.
    Reporters have to read various newspaper and many books to expand their view.
    Akira Ikegami is a Japanese famous journalist. He used to work at NHK as a reporter before. When he was a new reporter, he read many books. Also, he practiced coping everything off newspaper’s article to know what is a good article. Therefore, reading many books and coping article are important practices to be a reporter.

    ■How do we know if news is true?
    I am trying to watch different TV news program and different newspaper because I can know which news is true or not.

    ■Can anyone report the news?
    I don’t think so because reporter has a responsibility to tell news to citizen accurately. Therefore, anybody cannot be a reporter.

    ■If you were the only person to witness something important – something that the whole world should know about – what would you do? Please explain your answer.

    If I were the only person to witness something important, I would tell CNN about that. Because, if I posted the news on my facebook, only a certain people can see it. But, if I told CNN about the news, many people can know it through the CNN news. Also, I think I can receive a reward from CNN.

  9. 1, I agree with Moon’s opinion. Actually reporters should be honest because their job is delivered the new as quickly and only true news if they are not doing, they are like just novelist. So if someone want to be a reporter, that people must have a wariness to their job about how important is to readers.

    2, I think, if news are true there might have that evidences.

    3, Nowadays, social network system is well like twitter, Facebook, blog..etc. And even we can use to information delivery well by these systems so anybody can be delivered news.

    4, I think, If I see something specific evidence or happening, first I will take a video then I will publish the internet news page or my twitter.

Leave a Reply

